The OASIS Coupler Forum

HOME

OASIS principles

Up to Specific issues in real coupled models

Posted by Anonymous at June 15 2018

Dear Oasis users,

I am a totally newbie to this coupler so before I start to implement to my case (coupling regional climate model to air quality model) I would like to have some questions regarding the principles on which OASIS works.

Let's say I have two models represented by two executables running on "m" and "n" CPU units, where m and n are different. Let's assume, for the simplicity (but actually this will be most often my case) that the grids are same for both models, so no interpolation is needed while exchanging the data.

My questions:

1) if n and m are different, the computational domain is split into pieces differently in the two models(executables). How in this case OASIS ensures that the right portion of the data is passed to the receiving model? Or it collects first all the pieces from all the MPI threads from one model, and passes (no interpolation needed) to the other model as whole and it is the MPI what distributes the data to the individual threads of the other model? Or it is OASIS who ensures the data distribution among CPU threads?

2) As I said, in my case, no interpolation will be needed, as the domains match exactly. Are there steps that can be skipped in this case while setting up oasis and modifiing the individual model's code? In fact, if no interpolation is done, than no information is needed about the lat lon coordinates of the grid points at all. How OASIS deals with this special case?

Thanks in advance for any clarification

Peter

Posted by Anonymous at June 16 2018

Hi Peter,